Five Things To Know About England

The USA’s only other win vs. England came with a 2-0 victory in the US Cup in Foxborough, Mass. On June 9, 1993, as goalkeeper Tony Meola stoned the Englishman with several spectacular saves. Thomas Dooley and Alexi Lalas scored for the US

The nations last met on Nov. 15, 2018 as England scored a 3-0 win at Wembley behind goals from midfielder Jesse Lingard, defender Trent Alexander-Arnold and forward Callum Wilson. The match was the final international appearance for all-time leading scorer Wayne Rooney.

USA-England Head-to-Head Results





June 29, 1950

1-0 W

1950 FIFA World Cup

Belo Horizonte, Brazil

June 8, 1954

3-6 L


New York, NY

May 28, 1959

1-8 L


Los Angeles, California.

May 27, 1964

0-10 L


New York, NY

June 16, 1985

0-5 L


Los Angeles, California.

June 9, 1993

2-0 W


Foxborough, Mass.

Sept. 7, 1994

0-2 L


London, England

May 28, 2005

1-2 liters


Chicago, Ill.

May 28, 2008

0-2 L


London, England

June 12, 2010

1-1 D

2010 FIFA World Cup

Rustenberg, South Africa

Nov. 15, 2018

0-3 L


London, England


Gareth Southgate, a former England international, starred as a defender and midfielder for Crystal Palace, Aston Villa and Middlesbrough, making 503 first-team league appearances during a 17-year playing career.

The 51-year-old Southgate earned 57 caps for England, scoring twice, and played in the 1998 World Cup. His most publicized moment came when he missed the Three Lions’ Last penalty kick in a shootout loss to Germany in the Euro 1996 semi-finals, which England hosted.

This will be Southgate’s second World Cup at the helm of England after directing the team to a fourth-place finish at Russia 2018. He has a 46-13-17 record as head coach.

England Roster

All but one of the 26 players that manager Gareth Southgate selected for Qatar 2022 play their trade in the English Premier League. Midfielder Jude Bellingham plays for Borussia Dortmund in the German Bundesliga and is a teammate of USMNT forward Gio Reyna.

Five players hail from defending Premier League champions Manchester City – defenders Kyle Walker and John Stones, midfielder Kalvin Phillips and forwards Jack Grealish and Phil Foden.

Current league leader Arsenal, as well as Chelsea, Manchester United and Newcastle United each had three players called up to the World Cup squad.

Captain Harry Kane leads England in scoring with 51 international goals, just two behind current DC United head coach Wayne Rooney for the all-time lead. At the 2018 World Cup in Russia, the Tottenham Hotspur striker tallied a tournament-best six goals, including a hat trick in the team’s 6-0 triumph over Panama.

Chelsea forward Raheem Sterling (20 goals and 21 assists in 80 international matches) is playing in his third FIFA World Cup at the age of 27 and scored his first goal in 10 World Cup appearances vs. Iran.

Defensive midfielder Declan Rice (West Ham United) has been a key contributor for the team Three Lionsdoing much of the dirty work in the middle of the pitch and helping the squad register 19 shutouts in 27 contests from the 2021 UEFA European Championship through the World Cup qualifying campaign.

England’s three oldest players are each 32 and battle-tested. Midfielder Jordan Henderson, an impact player with Liverpool since 2011 and one of the most experienced players on the squad with 70 caps serves as vice captain. Manchester City’s Walker has also made 70 appearances and Newcastle United defender Kieran Trippier has earned 38 caps.

Everton goalkeeper Jordan Pickford, who started against Iran, is Southgate’s No. 1 choice in the net. Depending on the foe, England has lined up in either a 4-2-3-1 or a 3-4-2-1 formation.

USMNT forward Christian Pulisic is teammates with Sterling and midfielders Mason Mount and Conor Gallagher at Chelsea. Fulham defenders Tim Ream and Antonee Robinson and Leeds United midfielders Tyler Adams and Brenden Aaronson have faced off against many of England’s players during this EPL campaign.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Jordan Pickford (Everton; 46/0), Nick Pope (Newcastle United; 10/0), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal; 3/0)

DEFENDERS (9): Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool; 17/1), Conor Coady (Everton; 10/1), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur; 48/3), Harry Maguire (Manchester United; 49/7), Luke Shaw (Manchester United; 24/3), John Stones (Manchester City; 60/3), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United; 38/1), Kyle Walker (Manchester City; 70/0), Ben White (Arsenal; 4/0)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund/GER; 18/1), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea; 4/0), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool; 70/2), Mason Mount (Chelsea; 33/5), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City; 23) /0), Declan Rice (West Ham United; 35/2)

FORWARDS (8): Phil Foden (Manchester City; 19/2), Jack Grealish (Manchester City; 25/2), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur; 76/51), James Maddison (Leicester City; 1/0), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United; 47/13), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal; 21/6), Raheem Sterling (Chelsea; 80/20), Callum Wilson (Newcastle United; 5/1)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *