technology

When Is The Game Awards 2022?

What time is The Game Awards 2022? It’s almost that time of year once again, when Geoff Keighley steps onto the stage to send off the year with one last show. Comprising numerous awards given to the year’s top talent and various trailers and announcements for 2023 and beyond, The Game Awards always makes a nice splash just before the holiday season. It’ll be streaming worldwide in the very near future, but what are all the details? What are the dates and times? What games will be shown? In this guide, we’ll aim to tell you all you need to know.

When Is The Game Awards 2022?

What date and time does The Game Awards start? The Game Awards 2022 takes place Thursday 8th December, and will be broadcast live from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles. Below is the start time for each time zone:

  • North America: 4:30pm PST / 5:30pm MST / 6:30pm CST / 7:30pm EST
  • UK/Ire: 12:30am GMT
  • Europe: 1:30am CET / 2:30am EET
  • Asia/Oceania: 9:30am JST / 8:30am AWST / 11:30am AEDT

Please note: For those in the UK, Europe, Asia, and Australia, the show will technically go out on Friday 9th December. Best get some coffee in if you’re planning to watch along live.

Where Can You Watch The Game Awards 2022?

The Game Awards will be live streamed on pretty much every major social platform. However, the easiest way to watch will be via YouTube or Twitch through the respective links. We will also be hosting a live blog of the event right here on Push Square. Watch along with us and the community! If you can’t watch the show live, don’t worry — we’ll have all the relevant news up on the homepage as soon as possible.

How Long Will The Game Awards 2022 Be?

A run time has not been confirmed for this year’s Game Awards, but you should expect it to be pretty long. Last year’s show was approximately three and a half hours including the pre-show, so we can presume it’ll be roughly the same as this year. Make sure you have three hours’ worth of snacks!

What Games Have Been Nominated for The Game Awards 2022?

The Game Awards 2022 is, as its name suggests, an awards ceremony, recognizing the biggest and best games of the year and more across numerous categories. During the show, we’ll see many of the winners be announced onstage, punctuated by musical performances and trailers for upcoming titles. Which games have been nominated for these awards?

Up for Game of the Year are games you’d expect: Elden Ring, God of War Ragnarok, and Horizon Forbidden West are competing for the top gong, alongside Stray, Xenoblade Chronicles 3, and A Plague Tale: Requiem. Those first three are nominated in the most categories, though, so we’d expect them to take home at least a few wins each. Other highly nominated games are Sifu, Gran Turismo 7, and Immortality. Click here for more details.

If you’d like to cast your votes in each category, you can do so via the official Game Awards website.

What Games Will Be Shown or Announced at The Game Awards 2022?

At this point, we don’t know anything official about what might be announced at The Game Awards 2022. As ever, though, there are some rumors going around and some educated guesses we can make in the run up to the big day.

We’ve been hearing murmurs about a new Crash Bandicoot game showing up at Geoff’s show, potentially a multiplayer game named Wumpa League. This one seems like a lock, given the initial tease came from an official PR package.

Elsewhere, reliable reporter Jeff Grubb has suggested Star Wars Jedi: Survivor, the sequel to Fallen Order, may get a release date at The Game Awards. Likewise, it’s rumored Final Fantasy XVI will also receive a firm date during the show.

That’s about it so far, but we’ll update this page as and when news regarding The Game Awards 2022 breaks.


Are you excited to watch The Game Awards 2022? What games do you think will take home a trophy? What will Geoff Keighley’s trainers look like this time? Discuss in the comments section below.

.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *